Khurai, MPSC to square off for polo title

IMPHAL: Khurai Polo Club (KPC) and MPSC-A both eased into the final of the 7 Mountain Division Polo Tournament, following their semifinal victories on Monday. KPC made light work of ITPC as the Khurai riders galloped to a 7-2 win and earned their title spot with ease.

                 Thomson and Roger shared the bulk of the spoils, claiming a treble apiece. It was a fairly evenly first-period contest with both sides scoring one goal each. P Ojit put TPC ahead towards the end of the chukker but Thomson equalised for KPC in a matter of seconds as the teams went into the next chukker on level terms.

                  KPC gained ground in the second chukker by taking a two-goal lead after Roger struck twice and Thomson scored his second while their opponents added a goal through M Doren as the scoreline read 4-2. 

                   Neither side could score in the third period but KPC were back to their scoring way in the last chukker and make sure they were deserved winners with a goal each from Roger, Thomson and Jogendra.

                   MPSC-A too barely broke a sweat against X-Polo Club whom they outclassed by a 9-3 margin to set up title clash with KPC. S Bimol turned out to be the most prolific scorer for the police team in the game with five goals. M Jawan and Bimol set the tone for the rout with a goal each in the first chuker as Tolongkhomba claimed a goal for X-Polo.

               Both teams struck a double each in the second chukker as Bimol and Abungkhuman scored for MPSC while X-Polo reduced the deficit with goals from Atangba and Tolongkhomba. X-Polo looked as if they were recovering but then went into a lull in the ensuing chukkers as MPSC had their way.

                In the third chukker, Bimol came up with a treble and Jawan added a goal to make it 7-3. Then it was up to Abungkhuman who closed out the final period with his second and team’s 8th goal.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.