VSAI defeat AYMFA to lift Sangai Trophy

IMPHAL, 31st May: VSAI beat AYMFA on penalties to win the 2nd RKFD Sangai Trophy Veterans’ Football Championship 2018 at Mapal Kangjeibung on Thursday.
VSAI bounced back from a goal down, forced a 1-1 tie and ultimately outscored their opponents in their penalty shootout to lay their hands on the trophy.
It was K Rankit who put AYMFA ahead 21 minutes into regulation but VSAI fought their way back into contention almost immediately when Th Bhupen struck in the equaliser in the 24th minute.
Then the two sides squandered the remaining minutes that saw back-and-forth exchanges, resulting in spot kicks.
In the shootout, VSAI held their nerves to make sure they ran out 4-2 champions with goals from K Khelen, R Romesh, M Bimolchand and Th Bhupen, while the opposition could make only two conversions through Md Abdul Hakim Seik and K Ranjit.
Courtesy of their title triumph, VSAI walked away with Rs 1,00,000 in prize money as AYMFA received Rs 50,000.
Individual honours were accorded to Md Altaf Shah (player of 1st semifinal), M Devananda Singh (player of 2st semifinal), Ng Inao (best goalkeeper), M Shyamsunder (best defender), U Bimolchand (best midfielder), P Romesh (best striker), N Uttam (top scorer – 10 goals), Th Somendro (best player), Th Ingobi (best player - above 45), RK Joykumar (oldest player), and Md Nazimuddin (best team official). Meanwhile, TBSFA, Taobungkhok were adjudged best contingent of march-past on the opening day, while Sangai FC, Imphal were named most enthusiastic team and VSA, Sora were given the fair play team award.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.