X-Polo pip CHPC-A to seal Men’s Polo title

IMPHAL: X-Polo scraped past CHPC-A in a 7-6 thriller to win the 35th Men’s State Polo Tournament on Sunday.
It was a see-saw final match that saw the X-Polo riders find themselves trailing behind several times before they snatched the victory in a tight fourth-chukker tussle.
P Ojit starred in their title triumph with a four-goal salvo as teammate Jogendrajit also made his mark scoring the decider.
Both teams ended the opening chukker in a 1-1 tie. Basanta put CHPC-A in front towards the final minutes of the first period before L Atangba drew level for X-Polo in the nick of time.
In the next chukker, CHPC regained their lead within two minutes of the period through P Jotin but X-Polo bounced back again in a little over two minutes with a goal from P Ojit before being outscored again after Th Kaoba struck in CHPC’s third goal.
But the lead changed hands in a matter of a couple of minutes as Ojit swung into action and hammered home a quick double just before the end of the second period to tilt the scoreline (4-3) in X-Polo’s favour.
CHPC, however, fought their way back into contention with an equaliser, the only goal of the third chukker, from Basanta. It was Basanta’s second goal.
The teams stated their intent in the fourth chukker. There were goals back and forth as Basanta claimed his third goal to put CHPC in the driver’s seat barely a few seconds into the last chukker, but X-Polo responded in a minute span courtesy of Jacob and went on to go 6-5 past their opponents, who equalised (6-6) through Jotin some two minutes later.
Then Jogendra shone for X-Polo when it mattered most striking home their seventh goal that ultimately proved to be the tittle winner.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.