CPC teams make Governor’s Cup Polo semis

IMPHAL, 15th Mar: Chingkheihunba Polo Club (CPC) recorded an 8-5 win over MPSC-A on their way to the semifinals of the 29th Governor’s Cup Polo Tournament on Friday.
Both Basanta and Leishemba played a key role in their triumph, equally sharing six goals between them.
A pair of goals by Basanta gave CPC a 2-1 advantage in the opening chukker. Rusan was the scorer for MPSC.
In the next chukker, CPC continued their momentum as Leishamba extended their lead (3-1) while keeping their opponents off the scoreboard in that period.
The police side’s woes compounded when they conceded an own goal in the third chukker.
The fourth chukker turned out to be an action-packed contest as both teams churned out strong performances that saw four goals being scored by each side, but that did little to prevent the Chingkheihunba riders from running out dominant winners.
Both Leisham and Basanta completed their hat tricks in the fourth-period exchanges with the former claiming a double and the later scoring his third as Kaoba added a goal to steer their team to the final four in style. For MPSC, Ranjit collected a treble and Bimol got one in a losing cause.
K&MM Riding School and MPSC-B lock horns for the remaining semifinal spot on Saturday.
In women’s competition, Chingkheihunba Polo Club produced a 10-0 hammering of Tentha Polo Club to reach the final.
Tanna claimed the bulk of the spoils scoring four goals as Neelu did her bit with a treble, Sangita collected a double and Sanajaobi contributed a goal.
In other semifinal match on Saturday (March 16), Thangmeiband Youth Polo Club take on Imphal Riding Club.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.