State to petition Centre for boundary safeguard

STAFF REPORTER IMPHAL, 28th Oct: Along with agreeing to submit a memorandum to the Union government, an all-political party meeting held on Saturday, in the backdrop of possible finalisation of the vexed Naga political issue, has resolved to apprise central leaders of the respective political organisations and seek their support to preserve and protect the territorial and emotional integrity of Manipur.

The meeting which commenced from 3 pm in the cabinet hall of the chief minister’s secretariat with chief minister N Biren in the chair was attended by representatives of different national and regional political organisations functional in the state.

While the members present unanimously resolved to form a sub-committee comprising legislators and leaders of NPP, BJP, INC, CPM, AITC, Shiv Sena and NIEDP, the meeting decided to depute members of the consultative committee, formed by the state government on the issue of territorial integrity of Manipur, to New Delhi for meeting important stakeholders of the Central government and seek information on the latest development and facts at the earliest.

The meeting specifically convened in the wake of the Central government’s interlocutor for the Naga peace parley – RN Ravi recently meeting leaders of six non-NSCN (IM) insurgent outfits of Nagaland, was marked by chief minister Biren informing about assurances given by Prime Minister Narendra Modi for protecting the territorial integrity of Manipur at any cost.

Along with the people of Manipur, the state government will also take up all measures to protect the territorial integrity of the state in letter and spirit, the CM maintained.

According to a statement issued by the chief minister, the meeting also welcomed the on-going peace talks between the Government of India and the NSCN-IM for peaceful solution to the Naga issue under the condition that the settlement of the vexed problem should not affect the interest of other states.

The sub-committee, which was formed during the meeting with deputy chief minister Y Joykumar Singh as chairman, has been entrusted to draft a comprehensive memorandum to be submitted to the Prime Minister and all concerned on the issue in the larger interest of the state and its people.

Apart from Joykumar, the committee has MLA Y Surchandra Singh (BJP), former MLA Dr Ng Bijoy Singh (INC), Ksh Santa (CPM), Dr S Manaoton (AITC), S lndrakumar (Shiv Sena) and N Samarjit Singh (NlEDP) as members.

Significantly, the CM’s statement did not mention when the consultative committee members will meet the Central government leaders, though it conveyed about consensus reached among the representatives of all political parties’ meeting to pursue the Government of India through their respective central leaders to preserve and protect the oneness of Manipur under any circumstances.

If necessary, a delegation of all-political party may visit Delhi to highlight the issue and its importance to the Prime Minister and others, the statement mentioned.

According to a source, the meeting, among others, was attended by works minister Th Biswajit (BJP), revenue minister Karam Shyam (LJP), Rajya Sabha MP Ksh Bhabananda (BJP state president), M Asnikumar (BJP vice president), TN Haokip (MLA and MPCC president), ex-MLA Dr Ng Bijoy (MPCC), ex-MLA RK Anand (MPCC) and MLA Awangbou Newmai (NPF Manipur president).

© 2016 - 2018 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.