9th & 10th Manipur Film Awards presented

The 9th and 10th Manipur State Film Awards (MFSA) distribution ceremony organised by Manipur State Film Development Society was held at the auditorium of Manipur State Film Development Society on Saturday with chief minister N Biren as the chief guest.

The chief minister presented Lifetime Achievement awards to veteran artistes Lourembam (O) Pishak and Oinam Biramangol Singh for the year 2014 and 2016 respectively.

Among others, Bobby Wahengbam, who is columnist of The People’s Chronicle, received the 10th MSFA in the category of ‘best book on Manipuri cinema’ for his write-up on ‘Manipuri cinema: A world of its own’ while the Best Script of the 10th MSFA was given to Poknapham’s feature editor Sudhir Naoroibam for 'Loktak Lairembi'.

Bobby Wahengbam also received the best sports/social issues and special jury award for ‘Soft Target’.

Speaking on the occasion, Biren stressed that had the previous government worked sincerely and honestly, issues such as conflict among the communities, illegal migrant issue, etc., would not have occurred. “Past is past but the present generation should be cautious to avoid mistakes like those committed in the past,” he said.

While informing that the BJP led coalition government has come up to do something unique for the betterment and development of the state and thereby bring about the necessary change, unlike the governments in the past, he said that the present government would ensure transparency in governance to avoid the past mistakes.

“The government has already initiated people oriented schemes which aim to deliver good governance with human touch and will continue doing such activities in future,” he added.

Condemning the burning of his effigy recently during a protest, the chief minister stated that the present government is committed to bring positive change in the state and the government won’t do anything wrong or which is against the aspirations of the people of the state. Burning of effigies is very wrong and it will not be taken lightly even though such activities were not dealt with seriously in the past, he asserted.

Stating that government’s intervention is needed to support the artistes of the state, Biren said that the government is working out a Welfare Policy for better livelihood an uplift the living standard of the performing artists and their families in the state as is done for the journalists’ fraternity and also for the differently abled persons.

He also said that though Manipur is small, it is indeed a pride for the state that Manipuri films have brought many laurels at national and international arena. The state has huge potential and talents in the field of cinema. However, there are less number of people who give due recognition, appreciation and support those who work hard in such fields.

Listing some of the initiatives taken up the present government, Biren said that ‘Imphal Evenings’ was introduced to present an opportunity to the people to spend some quality time with their families and friends together and to show to the world that Manipur is no more a conflict ridden state.

He also stated that various MoUs worth Rs 5000-6000 crore were signed with different companies during the recent North East Development Summit (NEDS) 2017. The government would be signing a MoU with a company for setting up a Private Medical College in the state soon, he disclosed.

On the occasion, Biren announced that he would be visiting Behiang, border village between India and Myanmar on December 19 and would be laying the foundation stone for construction of Maharaja Chandrakriti Memorial Park.

Delivering the presidential speech, art and culture minister L Jayantakumar Singh said that the journey of Manipuri films is just beginning but it has brought many laurels to the state at both national and international platforms within such as short span.

He announced that MSFDS would start screening films from various states and countries on every Saturdays and Sundays for the film lovers of the state soon.

Winners in the feature film category of the 9th MFSA-2014 include ‘Nangna Kappa Pakchade’ (best film), Ksh Gyananda Singh (best debut director for ‘Thambal’), Makhonmani Mangshaba (best director/Nangna Kappa Pakchade), Ch Premananda Roy (best art director for ‘Ayekpa Lai’), Ajit Yumnam (best screenplay for ‘Nongmatang’), (L) MK Binodini Devi (best story for ‘Nangna Kappa Pakchade’), RK Kaiku Singh (best actor/Nongmatang), Tonthoi Leisangthem (best actress in ‘Nangna Kappa Pakchade’), Eedhou (best supporting actor in Sanagi Tangbal’), RK Sorojini Devi (best supporting actress in ‘Nangna Kappa Pakchade’), Baby Renie (best child artiste in ‘Eidi Kadaida’), Imo Yumnam (best cinematography for ‘Ayekpa Lai’), Romi Lamabam (best audiography for ‘VDF Thasana’), Tommy Hodam (best editing for ‘VDF Thasana’), ‘Thabal’ (best special effect), Bhogen Singh (best make-up artist for ‘Nangna Kappa Pakchade’), Ksh Gyanandra Singh (best costume designer for ‘Thabal’), N Tiken (best music director for ‘Nangna Kappa Pakchade’), Homen D’Wai (best lyricist for ‘VDF Thasana’), Bonny Sharma (best male playback singer/VDF Thasana), RK Nandeshori (best female playback singer/VDF Thasana), ‘Nongmatang’ (best children’s film) and Prity (special jury award/Nongmatang).

In the non-feature film category the winner include ‘Phum Sang’ by Haobam Paban Kumar (best film) and ‘Soft Target’ by Bobby Wahengbam.

For the tenth MFSA-2016, the award winners include ‘Ima Sabitri’ (non-feature film and biographical/art/culture), Dr Meena Longjam (best debut director for ‘Auto Driver’), ‘Eishu Hingli Nakhoigum (sports/social issues), ‘Ima Leibakkidamak’ (short film), Oinam Doren (cinematography/Auto Driver), Takhellambam Helendro Singh (editing/Auto Driver), Heisnam Tomba (music direction/Ima Sabitri) and Ratankumar Leitanthem (voice over/narration) for ‘Eishu Hingli Nakhoigum’.

In feature film category for the 10th MFSA, ‘Loktak Lairembi’ directed by Haobam Paban Kumar bagged the best film award with the same film also bagging the best story award (Sudhir Naoroibam). The special jury award was presented to ‘Pankhei’.

© 2016 - 2021 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.