MPSC-A, X-Polo book semis spots


MPSC-A and X-Polo Club were the first two teams to move into the semifinals of the men’s State Polo Tournament on Wednesday, while Khurai Polo Club-A beat KRYPSA to progress to the quarterfinals.

MPSC-A overcame Chingkheihunba Polo Club-A in a 5-4 thriller.

In a see-saw second-chukker contest after a barren first period, Secendro put Chingkheihunba ahead some 40 seconds into period but Surjit drew level for the police team in a matter of one-and-half minute before Kokeshor regained the lead for the former only to be equalised by Romen’s effort.

The third chukker tilted in favour of MPSC as Abungcha and Surjit (his second) scored to make it 4-3, with Kaoba getting the third goal of Chingkheihunba.

Then in a nail-biting battle in the fourth chukker, it was the police riders who rose to the contest as they were rewarded by an early goal from Abungcha (his second) before their spirited opponents found their fourth goal through Secendro (his second) in a losing cause as MPSC held on to close out the game on a triumphant note.

X-Polo Club, meanwhile, emerged dominant 8-3 winners against K&MMRS-A to cruise into the semifinals.

The team started off with a first-chukker 2-1 lead courtesy of Ojit and Jacob as Doller scored for the opposition.

X-Polo, however, went into a lull in the next chukker that saw Doller claim his second goal to restore parity for K&MMRS.

In the third chukker, Tolonkhomba put X-Polo firmly in control with a treble and the game was beyond doubt in the last chukker when Atangba further stretched their lead with a double before Ranjan reduced the deficit but Doren made sure X-Polo ran out easy 8-3 winners.

Khurai Polo Club-A were the last team to make it to the quarterfinals with a 5-2 victory over KRYPSA.

Thomson grabbed two goals as Roshan, Roger and Jogendro added one each to knock out their opponents, who scored through Alex and Thouba.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.